Broken Beginnings Chapter Thirty

Michelle Renee Kidwell
5 min readDec 14, 2021

(Revised)

Chapter Thirty:

Early March 1939:

When will this stop? When will be allowed to go back to our lives? When can we stop fearing that every noise we hear is the Nazi’s. I want this to end, I want my family back. I want my life back.

Naomi deserves to be enjoying life, she deserves to enjoy being a child, she shouldn’t have to be scared, but she’s scared all the time and that is not fair to her.

Before the Nazi’s took our radio, we could hear the news, but that is no longer possible, and not knowing is definitely harder than knowing. I know that Ima wishes we knew about Father, I wish that too, the not knowing is hard, it weighs on all of us.

I miss going to school, playing with friends, doing the things we used to do. I miss the way Naomi used to be able to take part in our games, no one stopped her because they knew I wanted her there and I would defend Naomi, after all she was my twin. It wasn’t her fault her brain didn’t work right and she didn’t deserve to be punished for that. But now many like her were being taken away for something they could not help.

What possible threat could Naomi be to the Nazi’s? It wasn’t logical, but nothing these monsters did was.

--

--