I’m not Okay

Michelle Renee Kidwell
2 min readJun 24, 2024

And it’s Okay

Hannah’s Story Continues

Photo by Isis França on Unsplash

The majority of the time, my faith is strong, and I am grateful to be alive, but there are times when the reality of what the accident has taken from me hits me, and I admit I am not okay.

Those moments of hurt, of feeling broken sometimes happen at the most inconvenient times, at the grocery store when the item I need is just out of reach, in the Sunday School classroom when I have to ask the children for help.

On Sunday, I had to leave the classroom for a moment to compose myself. Thank goodness we have older kids willing to help with the younger ones and even after I left the room for a couple of minutes, there was still an adult in the room.

I wasn’t okay at that point, and when I returned to class to get back to our lesson on forgiveness and how God paid the ultimate price for our sins, I had to first express my feelings, so that kids would know even the strongest faith struggled sometimes. It was important to show them that our earthly struggles did not equate to a less loving, faithful God, quite the contrary.

Sadly, some of the children have experienced hard things, and I guess I can relate a little better to them on a personal level. Although I feel sad when I think of what some of these kids have been through, I find comfort in seeing how God has touched their lives, just as he has touched my own.

Copyright Michelle R Kidwell

June.23.2024

--

--