Shadows that Lurk in the Light: Chapter Twenty

Michelle Renee Kidwell
5 min readNov 5, 2023
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Chapter Twenty:

Giving up was easy, but when that man had eluded other victims, murder victims, that was not an option. I was still alive to tell what I had lived through, they weren’t.

Even though we were both in danger, Deliah was backing me. But these victims deserved justice just as I did, but they weren’t here to fight for themselves. My experience had taught me that they deserved justice.

“I appreciate your understanding that it would be easy to leave, that we could give up, but that’s not an option. Not until his other victims are found, and until they receive justice.”

“Deliah, you are doing the right thing, I never doubted that, but I don’t want to see you hurt again. I understand why you must do this. These families deserve justice too, but I can’t face losing you again.”

“I’m not going anywhere.” I assured her. I will fight for myself and them. It’s time to fight for justice, I’m tired of being afraid.”

“Tracey, I’m here for you and I’m going to help you. His confession to you has already been reported to the authorities, they have the answering machine, now we wait.”

It was true that I had the same concerns as my sister, but I was tired of living in fear and being controlled by a monster behind bars…

--

--